Link

PostSecret

Postsecret.com has been around for a while…not too many people know about it. I think I started following the blog back in middle school. My best friend had heard about it from someone else and we instantly became drawn to it and followed it every week.

Basically, PostSecret is a blog of secrets from anonymous people. They must mail in their secret on the back of a postcard and the person in charge of the blog posts a certain amount of postcards every week.

I don’t know why me and my best friend were so addicted to reading random people’s secrets…especially since some of the secrets were definitely from people way beyond our age at the time. People put a lot of thought into their postcards and really poured out their hearts on them. At times the secrets can be disturbing and not of interest to me but occasionally there will be one that I can relate to.

As the years went on, I guess I got tired of running to PostSecret every week and I just got too busy for it….although, I do remember at one point, since iPhones have been out, I downloaded the app but eventually deleted it because it was only updated once a week, as oppose to every day, every hour, or every minute like my other social networks.

I’m not sure how many people know about PostSecret, but I think it is very well known and there have even been events where the anonymous senders have met the guy in charge of the site. You can find books of secrets in Barnes & Nobles that have pictures of people’s postcards. I have found them and looked through but I have yet to buy one.

By Kiana Yasmine

Leave a Reply

