Full-time Consumer, Part-time Producer

I would call myself more of a media consumer than a producer. At first I was going to say I am a bit of both but when I really think about it, I am definitely more likely to scroll through my timeline than produce my own song. There are days where I feel too ugly to post a picture or rather favorite a tweet than make one up myself. Yet, there are other days where I feel goofy enough to record a funny video and post it.

I never thought of it as being a consumer and producer but I guess that is the world we live in today. A person could sing and record a cover of their favorite song on garageband and when they post it on the internet, it will sound like studio quality. Although I would disagree with the couch potato photo and say it is inaccurate, I do not think the model is not far off either. People are no longer limited to just their couch to watch tv, they can do it while sitting on the bus or train going to work or class. We can post (consume/produce) at anytime from anywhere thanks to our 21st century smartphones. It is kind of hard to resist sometimes, on the bus especially if you are alone. It is our way of connecting with the world and knowing what every one else is talking about. Producing media is always a matter of choice but consuming? How can we not consume it?

It is at the tip of our fingers, every second of the day.

It is at the tip of our fingers, every second of the day.

By Kiana Yasmine

One comment on “Full-time Consumer, Part-time Producer

  1. Under what circumstances could you imagine becoming equal parts consumer and producer? Some may say that they are interested in the day when people are more inclined to produce, as opposed to consume, but I am not completely convinced that we will get to that point – not completely, at least. In some ways, media consumption is a learned behavior, and it may be the case that media production is also a learned behavior. If this is the case, we may see a major shift in the standard production/consumption as more children are exposed to digital media tools and platforms. In the end, this may be a generational difference that we will see change within our lifetimes.

Leave a Reply

