My media producing/consuming life

I posted yesterday, but it seems like my post did not go through for some reason so here we go round 2!

As a media producer/consumer, I spend way more time than I should on social media websites. Between Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr and always being glued to my phone, my family constantly jokes that I’ve lost social skills so they’ll do things like text me when I’m right in front of them just to try to make a point. I know, hilarious.

Instagram is the place where I share with my friends/followers (the ones I’ve accepted) things like pictures of my little brother at his first day at basketball practice, the vacations I go on throughout the year, my best friends birthdays, and of course my favorite of all activities, food. It’s a personal page where I find myself posting things that happen in my life that I find interesting enough to share. I post to Instagram every couple of weeks, which is actually pretty decent compared to the amount of followers I have that post “selfies” every 10-15 minutes. I try to keep the selfies to a bare minimum… I don’t think my followers care about how I look sitting on the couch, stuffing my face and watching Hawaii 5.0.

Facebook is ancient and I don’t think anyone really uses it anymore, but I do. I have a lot of family spread out throughout the world, and Facebook allows me to stay connected with them by sharing things like pictures of me because they’ll say I look wonderful regardless of how I actually look, which is what family is for!

I do have a twitter, and I question that everyday because I barely ever use it. It’s the sort of thing that I use to pretend like I’m  doing something on my phone when a situation gets awkward. Just like a fake phone call from a friend, or pretending to text someone when really you’re just feeling awkward. I know you do it, too.

My favorite part of the media consuming/producing world is definitely tumblr. I find myself on tumblr when I need to be inspired, when I want to look for new ideas, when I need a good laugh, when I want to see cool pictures, or just what people from all over the world are doing at that very moment. I think what fascinates me about tumblr is the artistic part of it, I’m a very artistic person and I feel like there’s always a way to express exactly how I’m feeling on it. It’s pretty awesome, you should check it out.  The best part is that I don’t actually know any of my followers, and although my mom always says “don’t talk to strangers” (still does, even though I’ve clearly turned 20) I love that tumblr is full of strangers because I can post anything without being judged. It’s pretty cool.

One comment on “My media producing/consuming life

  1. The questions surrounding the ongoing sustainability of Facebook are quite valid. Some critics are surprised that it has lasted as long as it has – ten years can be both an extensive run and a relative speck in the bigger picture – and there is no small number of critics who will be thrilled to see it fall away. The question, as I see it is, is it possible for Facebook to reinvent itself? If the answer is yes, then I can imagine a renaissance of the social media site. The “unknown factor” that you speak of in terms of Tumblr may be exact what a strong social media site needs to survive. Without this, we can expect any social media site, not just Facebook, to burn out, as it will only have a limited shelf life. The reason for this may lie in the familiar phrase, “familiarity breeds contempt.” If the only thing that a social media site can offer us is an online version of the same things that we can get from talking to people, there is little to keep people coming back. We will have to wait and see what Facebook will have to offer it’s users in the future, but we can be sure that if social media is subject to more rapid changes than it’s creators and administrators are expecting, then users will not wait patiently for individual sites to advance and expand.

Leave a Reply

