Non Superbowl Commercial

If there’s one thing I’m excited about for the Superbowl, it’s the commercials. And I’m sure there’s many more people out there just like me. Each year, big brands try to create a unique and entertaining commercial because almost everyone is glued to the screen during the big game. But times are changing and social media is controlling what ads are popular and to what extent – aka hashtags on Twitter. Social media sites like Facebook and Twitter easily generate the publicity that brands want to an audience that may not even be watching the game. Some companies even release ads before the Superbowl.

On Facebook, I came across Newcastle’s non-Superbowl commercial starring Anna Kendrick. Basically, Kendrick goes on a rant about how the company she was supposed to do an ad for (Newcastle) decided not to star her because they didn’t have the money. It’s a hilarious new take on Superbowl commercials. Newcastle tried something different, and it worked. They were able to make their ad a hit, and it’s not even being played at the Superbowl! It generated more than 3.2 million views on Youtube.

3 comments on “Non Superbowl Commercial

  1. Hahaha, I loved that commercial! Anna Kendrick is hilarious! I’ll admit, a big part of the reason why I watch the Superbowl is to see the creative commercials companies come up with. Superbowl Sunday ads are crucial for marketing, and each year companies seem to out do themselves. I really liked Budweiser’s “Puppy Love” commercial this year too.

  2. I am guilty, because all I care about are the commercials as well. I find it interesting that this wasn’t played during the Superbowl because it was so funny. However, this was not the only commercial to not be played. I watched the Scarlet Johansson commercial on youtube because I love her and wanted to see what the big fuss was about. Apparently, Fox did not want to lose Coke or Pepsi as sponsors, or that is at least what the big rumor is. I find it interesting what commercials are chosen to be played and what aren’t and for the reasons as to why or why not.

  3. That commercial was great-thanks for the share!

    I also find it funny how there is so much hype about Superbowl commercials that even a commercial poking fun at Superbowl commercials is so popular.

    I don’t know if you say the Esurance commercial that aired right after the Superbowl, but it similarly made fun of Superbowl commercials. (Although I’m not sure how affective the ad was, because even though I remembered the content of the commercial, I couldn’t remember exactly which insurance company ran it until I googled it)

    Watch the commercial here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgOkWDum1-s

Leave a Reply

