online classes vs. normal classes

Don’t get me wrong, I love Rutgers and I like the classes that I’ve taken thus far, especially the ones I’m taking this semester, but something about online classes makes me feel a lot more comfortable than being in a classroom. It’s weird, maybe it’s because I’m a pretty shy person but I always do so much better through online classes than in person classes. I apply myself the same way I do in normal classes, I do everything I’m supposed to but it’s almost like it’s easier to express myself through online classes than it is in classrooms. This makes me worried in a way, it’s almost like I’m so attached to the internet that it’s easier for me to interact and express myself through it, and it shouldn’t be this way…haha

I think what makes online classes so appealing to me is that I don’t have the face to face pressure that sometimes happens in classrooms, like when you say something wrong and everyone looks at you like “what is this person saying.” I feel like in college we don’t meet enough in person for me to become comfortable enough to say whatever I want in a classroom, for example how comfortable  I used to feel in middle, and high school. Being in a classroom everyday with your teacher and classmates (in high school) and knowing everyone made it way easier to be able to say what I wanted, rather than in college where you meet once or twice a week for a couple of weeks and you’re usually so busy listening to lectures that you don’t really have time to “meet” the people in your class. Then there’s the presentations, I can’t do public speaking… I’m horrible at it, I get so nervous every time that I almost forget what I have to say. So online classes makes it so much easier for a shy person like myself.

6 comments on “online classes vs. normal classes

  1. I feel the same way that you do. I’m also more on the shy side of the spectrum and find that online classes are much easier when it comes to expressing my opinion on a topic. I remember feeling more… secure I guess you could say in high school and middle school as well. It definitely had something to due with the frequency of classes and actually getting to know your peers.

  2. You make a good point that a lot of in person classes at Rutgers leave little opportunity for you to ‘meet’ your classmates. This class is the first class I have taken at Rutgers that has had fewer than 50 students. There was definitely some benefit to classes in middle school and high school where you spent all day with your classmates and really got to know them.

  3. This is one of the few classes at Rutgers I’ve had where I was even introduced to the other classmates. Usually lectures have so many students that we don’t even need to worry about participating or asking questions in class. I definitely know what you mean though about being more comfortable to talk in high school. However, I’m the kind of person that needs to go to class to feel like I’m doing something for it. I tried to take an online class this semester and I forgot to do the first assignment, so I ended up dropping it haha.

  4. I took public speaking last semester and it could have been worse haha. But I completely understand what you mean about feeling uncomfortable. You will never catch me talking in a 100-200 person lecture! I personally don’t think I would do well in online classes because I’m more of a visual learner. I think its interesting that you really like online classes and I’m jealous that you do well in them! haha

  5. I don’t feel exactly the same way that you do, but I know what you’re talking about it. I love classes with fewer people in them, because then I can participate in discussions. Classes that have 100 or 200 people in them, the only participation that happens is in the first four rows. People that are sitting all the way in the back or even in the middle are usually talking to the people around them (if they already know those people) or are doing something else completely.

  6. I totally understand the anxiety element when it comes to public speaking especially in a classroom surrounded by people who sound almost as intelligent as the professor. Personally, I express myself better in writing and I wish I had time to quickly write a response before an in class discussion. But, I’ve never taken an online class before. My fear is that I would be too prone to distraction.

Leave a Reply

