Smart Phones Ruin Relationships?

We, as humans, carry our phones with us wherever we go like classrooms, bathrooms, work,  to bed, and outside — our phone is always in our hands, like our wallets. Sometimes people don’t trust leaving their phones out – they always keep them in their pockets.

According to http://liveboldandbloom.com, smartphones can be ruining relationships – due to lack of mindfulness, loss of communication, prioritizing the wrong models of communication, getting anxiety from the separation of our smartphones, etc, it is getting to the point when people are sitting next to each other and won’t even look at each other.

My family came up to New Brunswick to join me for dinner – we sat at a round table. Conversation ran thin because they were too immersed in their cell phones. I purposely kept my phone to the side so I would be forced to interact with my parents. Honestly, they didn’t seem too interested. Why would you come to join me for dinner if you’re going to just stay on your phone the whole time anyway?

The article states, “Why choose to communicate through social media, rather than enjoy a friend’s company? Or better yet, do something together, other than sitting side by side staring at the displays on your individual devices?”

When I confronted them about it, they put their phones away. They tried to sneak a couple of glances to every ten minutes or so. Our attention spans are getting smaller and smaller, unable to give our attention to people at the moment they request. How will our attention spans be for future generations when technology is more advanced?

texting-at-dinnerwriteonnewjerseydotcom2

http://liveboldandbloom.com/10/relationships/how-smartphones-could-be-ruining-your-relationship

9 comments on “Smart Phones Ruin Relationships?

  1. I agree with what you said here. Smartphones and the roles they play in our lives is reaching new heights. As far as relationships go, I’ve actually seen lack of communication via texting become a large enough issue to end a relationship. It was a bit dramatic and probably coupled with other underlying issues, but your post sort of ties in well with mine about the addiction we have to social media websites.

  2. I agree with you on this one and it is a serious issue because humans now rely on smartphones to avoid interaction with other humans. Sometimes it can be an awkward situation or that they would rather look at their newsfeed than talk to you. I find this the worst when I’m on an elevator and everyone goes on their phone to try to avoid an awkward situation. People are so into their phones that a friendly gesture of good morning to someone who lives in your building is a thing of the past.

  3. I’ve heard of a ‘game’ people play when going to out to dinner with people. At the beginning of dinner everyone puts their phones in the center of the table. The first person to use their phone pays the bill for the entire table. While this doesn’t really address the issue, it helps to keep everyone focused on each other during dinner. You should try it out with your family the next time you’re out.

  4. I’ve heard of a ‘game’ people play when going out to dinner with people. At the beginning of dinner everyone puts their phones in the center of the table. The first person to use their phone pays the bill for the entire table. While this doesn’t really address the issue, it helps to keep everyone focused on each other during dinner. You should try it out with your family the next time you’re out.

  5. I agree with you that its really affecting relationships. Ill be out to lunch with friends and literally everyone will be on their phones and conversation will stop. And what is even worse is that most of the conversation that does actually go on revolves around something seen on a social media site. Its seriously has consumed our lives and we obsess over having the newest products. My mom still tries to enforce us not using our phones at dinner but its just kind of something we all become accustomed too.

  6. I completely agree 100%. I feel like this was never a problem like around this time last year, but now, I feel like I barely can hangout with my friends without someone saying “what?” because they were reading a text instead of listening. My biggest pet peeve is when you are telling people a story and they aren’t listening because they’re scrolling on Twitter or reading a text. It is extremely frustrating trying to connect with people when they aren’t listening at all!

  7. I agree 100% as well! Whenever I’m out with my friend’s anywhere I go, everyone is on their phones. It really pisses me off, but I realize that I’m on my phone as well. Smartphones are starting to become like yawns, or sneezes. When one person starts, a domino effect is put in place and everyone sneezes or yawns or now a days, takes out their smartphone.

  8. I absolutely hate it when I’m out to dinner with my friends, especially friends that I don’t get to see as often, and they are all on their phones at the table. Call it distraction or boredom, but it’s hard for me as a person who does not have a smart phone to understand why you can’t put down your phone and enjoy the company you are with.

  9. I agree with this 100% over the years slowly I have noticed the thinning in conversation and people more and more retreating into their phones and other technology. It is getting harder to hold a simple conversation and keep the attention of the person you are trying to talking to. Phones and the advancing technology seem to take away physical social connections.

Leave a Reply

