New Taco Bell App

In an attempt to be “extraordinary”, Taco Bell is going to start taking orders through smartphones later this year. As if the drive thru wasn’t fast enough. In this new app, customers will be able to choose the location of pick up, as well as whether inside the restaurant (separate mobile order section) or drive thru. This will ensure a faster service. What makes this app unique is the creepy way they will use your GPS location to determine when employees should start heating up your food. You can read about it in the article below.

http://www.theverge.com/2014/2/13/5409230/taco-bell-will-accept-orders-via-smartphone-this-year

I love Taco Bell and all, but this idea just seems excessive. I think it makes sense for restaurants that need time to make their food, for example pizza places. But it barely takes more than 5 minutes to get my food when I’m at Taco Bell, so I don’t understand why they would need to create an app to order earlier. And what if I change my mind about what I want to eat by the time I get there? It also makes me wonder how lazy food vendors think consumers are. We already have a drive thru for a FAST food restaurant.

 

SPO.TacoBell.Night.11.13

4 comments on “New Taco Bell App

  1. I agree with you. I don’t think an app like this is necessary for something ilke taco bell. You go to the drive thru, order your food, and within two minutes you’re already at the last window paying and picking up your food. The GPS part seems to be a bit excessive for a food chain like taco bell.

  2. I agree with you that this is probably unnecessary and not saving a substantial amount of time. However, I am still impressed by what technology can do nowadays and I think the concept behind this app is really cool.

  3. Unnecessary? Maybe. But I think I’m going to love it because I love Taco Bell. And by the transitive property, I’ll love getting my Taco Bell even faster!

  4. I’m not going to lie– I actually laughed as I was reading this. I think its great that this type of technology is out there because its so convenient. think this is a great idea, but maybe not necessarily for Taco Bell. But, I wonder how this looks from the perspective of other countries.

Leave a Reply

