Facebook buys Whatsapp for $19 Billion

I woke up this morning to the crazy news that Facebook had bought Whatsapp for $19 billion dollars. Not $19 million (which still would have been an exorbitant amount of money), but $19 BILLION dollars. 

I have been using Whatsapp daily for the past two years. I definitely see the benefits that Whatsapp has to offer compared to standard text messaging. Some benefits include considerably faster messaging, free messages to overseas users, and ability to use the service when only Wi-Fi is available.

 

Honestly, I am a little bit disappointed that Facebook has purchased Whatsapp. I‘m scared that Facebook is going to turn Whatsapp into an ad-filled and message-storing platform. I have really enjoyed using Whatsapp because of its simple and ad-free easy to use design and I don’t want that to go away because of the new Facebook takeover.

What are your thoughts on this purchase? Are you a regular Whatsapp user? Is $19 a reasonable price for Whatsapp? 

http://money.cnn.com/2014/02/19/technology/social/facebook-whatsapp/ 

7 comments on “Facebook buys Whatsapp for $19 Billion

  1. I don’t use Whatsapp, but my parents do daily to contact their families back home in India. I know they love the app the way it is already, so I’m wondering what Facebook will do to change it. I think $19 billion is quite excessive, but Facebook is powerful enough to make these types of deals with other companies.

  2. I really like whatsapp as well. I use it to talk to family in Europe. I hope Facebook doesn’t alter the app too much because I really like the way it works as of now. Adds would make it so much less enjoyable to use.

  3. 19 billion? wow that’s definitely something I wouldnt have expected. I honestly feel like Facebook will turn it into something totally different. They constantly change the Facebook layout and the messaging on Facebook. I bet they will try to make it more like Facebook messaging.

  4. I think it’ll be interesting to see where Facebook takes Whatsapp. Hopefully, they only improve it, and don’t charge its users more money (I read somewhere that its $1 annually– but I could be wrong lol). I can’t believe it was a whopping 19 BILLION, since Facebook only paid 1 billion for Instagram.

  5. I never heard of Whatsapp until this post – but because facebook bought it I guess I will never get the chance to experience the original, because we all know facebook is going to somehow change it

  6. From a fiscal and business standpoint, I think $19 billion was outrageous. The FREE app has no real marketbale viability since they are likely to lose the one most important thing if they begin to charge or even implement burdensome ads; the users. Whatsapp boasts over 400 million people wordwide and therein lies Facebook’s true intent. Their core mission revolving around ‘connecting the whole world’ they, over everything, were after the users. As most of you said, I am very interested in seeing what will happen in the coming months/years.

  7. I have an interesting idea about what they may do. They may want to get rid of their messenger completely and integrate everything into one app. That way Facebook friends can message on one app, and at the same time message people that are not on Facebook

Leave a Reply

