Apple Security Flaw

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/02/21/apple-security-flaw_n_4835870.html?ir=Technology

 

 

When I buy an apple product I don’t usually associate it with viruses and hackers. But according to this article there is a flaw in one of their systems. “A major flaw in Apple Inc software for mobile devices could allow hackers to intercept email and other communications that are meant to be encrypted, the company said on Friday, and experts said Mac computers were even more exposed.” The article talks about how if someone is using a public internet connection hackers could easily gain access to our private information. It’s scary to think that the internet could be so dangerous when we are doing something as innocent as checking our emails via the starbucks or library wifi.

6 comments on “Apple Security Flaw

  1. Honestly, this is somewhat expected nowadays – with the government spying on the public and with technology getting faster and stronger, even a company as great as apple cannot be flawless anymore. There is always a way to intercept!

  2. I agree with Gianna. I think it’s about time Apple’s seemingly indefensible security and tight-knit operating systems began to have some holes. To me, it’s just the natural course of technology.

  3. That kind of sucks. The main reason I have an iPhone with all its flaws, and its outdated technology was for its safety. If that is no longer existent, I honestly do not see a reason as to why I must stick with an iPhone for my next upgrade

  4. I’m not too surprised by this. I have always had a hard time believing that Apple products were “immune” to viruses, or in this case hackers. I can only hope that in an upcoming iOS update, they can include more rigid privacy and security measures.

  5. This is completely a letdown for me. I have my computer and phone because I had always heard such great things about all Apple products. I had even heard how great their security was, but now I am in such awe that it was all fake.

  6. They actually fixed this issue really quickly, which I found to be rather admirable. Also, the security leak was caused by an error in the coding of the OS, not some clever hacker trickery, so rest assured, Apple devices in general are still as safe as they have always been.

Leave a Reply

