Google’s Projected Mode

http://www.engadget.com/2014/03/02/google-projected-mode-mercedes-benz-leak/

This new system that has leaked seems to be pretty neat. It’s called Google Projected Mode and will be associated with Daimler, the parent company of Mercedes-Benz. It claims to seamlessly connect smartphones to the head unit of the new cars. The display would be bigger than a phone and a more simplified version. They also claim that phone use age would be safely handled through the vehicles control system. I think this could go one of two ways. I think it could be a great alternative to texting, talking and driving. While the law states that texting and driving is illegal, there are still many accidents and deaths due to this issue. Texting and driving unfortunately seems to be pretty common and if people aren’t going to obey laws, then maybe a feature such as this could be helpful. But on the other hand this system is essentially promoting cellular use during driving.

One comment on “Google’s Projected Mode

  1. I can definitely see a huge controversy with this. I agree with what you said, however I am more on the side that this is promoting something that is extremely dangerous and illegal. I am not going to be a hypocrite and say that I never use my phone while in my car, however I do not think that something like this should be put out on the market. We know how many accidents and deaths occur because of phone usage, and I don’t think that this should be able to change the laws.

Leave a Reply

