Google Translate

When I’m not at school, I teach pre schoolers at a local daycare center. This past summer we had a foregin student join our class for a few months while she visited her family here in the US. She was originally from Hungary and spoke barely any English. Because it was hard for the other students to communicate with her, I decided that we would type in things to Google Translate on my cell phone and communicate with her using yes or  no questions. It actually worked and the kids had a blast and I could tell she felt a lot more comfortable being able to somewhat communicate with us! I speak fluent Portuguese and English isn’t my first language, I actually moved from Brazil when I was 9 and I wish that Google Translate was around back then. If my teachers would have been able to use it in order to communicate with me when I didn’t know English, it would have made things a lot easier and less awkward for me! It’s crazy what a difference just a decade makes. 

Leave a Reply

