How I Met Your Mother

In September of 2005 I watched the very first episode of How I Met Your Mother (HIMYM). In 2005 I was 11 years old and in the 5th grade. I am now 20 and HIMYM is coming to an end…in fact the last episode aired tonight. I have not watched it because I missed the last two episodes and I need to watch those before I skip ahead to the finale. However, I feel like a part of my childhood is gone for good and it’s a bitter sweet feeling.  It’s been a long nine years of trying to figure out who the mom is and we finally know. Anyway, this whole HIMYM coming to an end had me thinking about how much a television  show can become a part of you. Almost as if the characters are so relatable that you feel like you are part of the show too. I don’t know if I’m the only one who feels that way but I think it is pretty crazy how you can grow older watching a tv show and become so connected with characters that it makes watching the last episode hard, almost as if you’re saying goodbye to something real.how_i_met_your_mother_season_9_bow_out

3 comments on “How I Met Your Mother

  1. I know what you mean, the show premiered on my birthday in 2005 and ever since, I have devoted the past 9 years to the show. Every step of the way has been legen… wait for it… dary. The show was a legendary run with a great cast. It is bittersweet to see it end but all good things come to an end. I am just glad to see it end on its own terms instead of getting canceled midway through.

  2. I was never a hardcore fan of How I Met Your Mother, but I would always watch it when it was on FX. I know a lot of people compared the bittersweet ending to the series final of Friends.

Leave a Reply

