The UNICEF Tap Project

facebookshare

A couple of weeks ago, I came across the UNICEF Tap Project. Basically, once you visit the website on your phone, the goal is to see how long you can go without touching your phone. The longer you go without touching your screen the more money will be raised towards supplying those less fortunate with clean water. Although the project ended on March 31, UNICEF indicated a total of 17,000 minutes of untouched phones combined. That’s a lot of clean water that is going to be given to people in need.

I remember attempting this project, and shamefully, I only lasted five minutes until I couldn’t help but scroll through my text messages, Facebook, instagram, twitter, etc. This is my first smart phone, so my compulsion to look at it may attribute to the fact that I have never owned one before, but unfortunately, I think I’ve crossed over to the dark side.

I’ve become one of those people that cannot help but scroll through their phone just to scroll through it. It’s something to pass the time and distract me from things that I wither don’t find interesting enough or I just don’t want to do. I do not even want to know how many times a day I look at my phone now.

Another change in behavior that I have noticed is that I have been spending less time on my computer. Unless I have to do a written assignment, I do not open my computer. After all, I have a computer in my pocket that is much more portable and fun to scroll through.

However, in spite of my own personal embarrassment for my phone addiction, I would not want to switch back to a basic phone. My smartphone has literally changed my social patterns and way of living. It’s pretty awesome.

 

Leave a Reply

