Online Appointments

Earlier today I had to make an appointment to hand in my visa application at the Italian Consulate so I can study abroad for the Fall semester. I was prepared to make a phone call, but after strangely being connected to the consulate in Chicago, I was then directed to book an appointment online. And  you know what? It was actually a really easy process after that. This made me think about how the real world is finally adapting to technology in a way that spreads convenience on a large scale. The same goes for ordering online. (I am a huge fan and user of scarletmenus.com. If you have never tried it. Try it now).

You can practically do anything with the click of a button. Granted, I still do have to show up in person for my visa appointment, so technology still has not reached the level where you can get government documents online. Trying to get a passport is a whole other headache and the process needs to be seriously updated. And yet, there is a voice in the back of my mind that brings up the absence of human contact. It’s important to know how to make your own appointments over the phone despite any anxiety that you may feel beforehand. I’ll even admit that before I was directed to the website, I was a little nervous in making an appointment. Even though I’ve scheduled countless doctor’s appointments and I answer phones on a daily basis at work, there is always an element of social anxiety and a fear that I will just freeze up in the phone call. But, I’ve come to find out, that the more you do it, the more accustomed and comfortable you are with making a phone call. But now that online appointments are finally making an impact, I predict an uprise in social anxiety when it comes to picking up the phone and dialing.

f

Leave a Reply

