Web MD

So I know I am not the only one who turns to the internet when they are sick and types their symptoms into Google. Let’s admit it, we all do. And we all think we are capable of diagnosing ourselves because we all went through eight years of schooling and five years of residency, right? Wrong. I have found that Web MD, while it has its benefits for diagnosing the common cold, can really mislead someone into thinking they have a disease that is far worse than their actual illness.

Case in point, last summer I had the worst sore throat of my life. It felt like there were needles in the back of my throat and I could barely even swallow water. I didn’t even eat for three days because it was too painful to swallow whole food. I was also extremely tired. After typing in my symptoms into Google, and clicking on Web MD mall signs pointed towards Mononucleosis. My stomach dropped. No. No. NO. I was freaking out for two days. Finally, I went to the doctor and he believed it to be a bad case of strep throat. He prescribed me the Z-pack, and in five days my throat was back to normal.

But why do I and others still use Web MD? Call it a control issue in terms of needing to understand what is happening to my body at that very instant. Call it a symptom of the digital era in the demand for instant information. Or simply call it the product of sharing ideas. But one thing is for sure, if you’re sick, go to the doctor. Obama made everyone get insurance for a reason. You might as well take advantage to it.

WebMD-graphic

One comment on “Web MD

  1. Ha I love reading up on things on Web MD even if I’m not sick just seeing what they post about a disease or some illness gives me the chance to act like I know what I’m talking about and makes me wish I went to school to become a doctor.

Leave a Reply

