Take the Road of the Unexpected

It’s simple. You never know where life will take you. This is something I didn’t believe in, for a long time. I was always the type of person to have a plan. Know what I am going to do, when I am going to do it, I figured that would make life easier. Well life does not stop for your plan. Just this morning, I was heading back to Rutgers and I busted two stitched in my finger, landed me in the hospital for 3 hours, when i had just had my finger stitched up this morning to begin with. It doesn’t matter if it is something stupid like that, or a plan like what you want your profession to be, and how long you want it to take to get there. None of that matters when you cant control your future. 

Thats the concept, that no matter how hard we try, we have no control over our own fate, our own future, or even our lives. It is something that it took me a long time to truly grasp and accept. When you are young you are taught that we make our own fate, but that simply is not the case. One person can only do so much, and the rest is left up to chance. And when things do not go our way as they so often do not, we can wallow in self-pity every time that something does not go our way, or we can embrace each day, live each moment to the fullest, and take the road of the unexpected.

Leave a Reply

